Maximise Your Potential

Amrit Sandhar

The Power of Passion…

on March 2, 2015

I was asked to come and present to a large organisation. The session was going to be a full day involving lots of concentration, facilitation and it was important key messages were understood.

As life happens to us all, my Uncle passed away the night before I was due to hold the session. I went with my father to be with my Uncle’s family in London the night before the session, and we stayed as late as we could. I had no time to cancel the presentation the next day, and there would have been little point as no matter how much we were suffering, my Uncle had gone. The next day was going to be a long day, three presentations altogether, and I had very little sleep due to the devastating news we had received the night before.

I have always had a passion for helping people, from as far back as I can remember. The reason why I became a Pharmacist, was because of my desire to help people. The reason why I love Employee Engagement so much is due to my desire to help people. Engagement excites me, engages me, and really brings me to life, because we can truly make a positive difference to peoples’ lives. So here I was, ready to present to a group of people, and I had no idea how much interest they had in a subject I love. As I presented, I began to forget the lack of sleep I had had, and the reasons why. The colleagues I was presenting to, seemed to love employee engagement as much as I do. They were asking questions and they were involved. Their energy kept my energy going. That group of people, with their love for their colleagues and trying to understand how they could make their lives better, gave me the power to carry through over four hours of presentations. It was an amazing day, with some wonderful people who taught me something about the power of passion.

I have carried out many presentations and none under the conditions I faced that day. Yet, I realised that passion really can make us ‘forget’, our hardships. Passion can make us work through the night, none stop, for something we believe in. People will work through days without a break, inventing, creating, evoking. This inner strength comes to life when we do things we are passionate about. When was the last time you worked on something or created something, driven my nothing more than passion?

When did you last feel the power of passion in your work?


Leave a Reply

