Maximise Your Potential

Amrit Sandhar

Can 2014 be a better year?

on December 30, 2013

So Christmas is over, having overindulged on extravagant meals and snacking in between.  And like so many people, the following day, I was out there trying to find as much fruit as possible, to correct the balance my body was yearning for. Since Christmas, I have been on the green tea, fruit smoothies and as much fruit and water as I can take. My body was yearning for nutrients and I had to respond.

Various experts have told us that it takes approximately 30 days to form a habit. We have so many aspects of ourselves that we torture ourselves for, whether it’s our weight, our lack of organisation, the inability to quit smoking, the inability to persevere at something and the list goes on. Yet 30 days goes by so quickly. Reflecting back on the year, I cannot understand where the year has gone – all 365 days. What did I achieve? Did I do everything I wanted? Was I a good father, husband, son? How could I have been better? Could I have organsied myself better so I had more time at home? Did I look after myself enough so I had the energy to make the most of the weekends with my wife and kids?

2013 is now at an end and we look forward to 2014, filled with hopes and dreams for a better year. What would make 2014 a better year? Maybe 2013 was a fantastic year. I must admit, I’ve learnt more in 2013 than any other year than I can remember. But it’s not winning the lottery or getting that fantastic job, which may or may not happen, that would make 2014 a better year. It’s the simple things that would make a real difference to our lives. The new habits, which if we could give enough focus to achieve, would have a massive impact on improving our lives.

So what stops us? We all know what gets measured gets done. What if you focused on getting more organised? What would you need to do? Plan each day, with achievable tasks, and then complete them. This done for 30 days would put us in a better place to deliver many other things. Improving our health would require us to eat healthier everyday for 30 days combined with regular visits to the gym throughout this period. Yet many of us, within the first two weeks, give up and go back to the self torture. For those of you who have seen the film ‘Run fat boy, run’ this reminds me of the scene where Simon Pegg when running the marathon, is faced with a wall which he must breakthrough. The wall was a psychological one but a wall just the same. Great film if you haven’t seen it.

So much has happened in 2013, both good and bad, which is essential in life. Life is made up of the yin and yang. We will have missed many opportunities to develop ourselves throughout the year with new habits. Whatever your New years’ resolutions, start by marking the days off on a calendar, for everyday you achieve your goal and see if you can get to the 30 days mark. Just as Simon Pegg was faced with a wall (in this case our 30 day mark), you too might find yourself breaking through and finding the rest of the journey far easier after this point.

I will not be giving up my new lifestyle and I too am marking the days of my healthier approach. Let’s make this a happier and healthier new year by doing what we have been holding back from for so long….by achieving the simple things that will make the biggest difference….


Leave a Reply

