Maximise Your Potential

Amrit Sandhar

Is life passing you by?

on August 24, 2013

Image 1Earlier this week, I took my kids to see my favourite tree, at the end of Jephson Gardens in Leamington Spa. Yes, my favourite tree. So what is so special about this tree? It is majestic and stands like a soldier who has survived many battles and has grown stronger from each one. Ever since I was a child, I’ve been in complete admiration of this tree. It is like a wise member of the family, like your Grandfather. As you approach it, your head naturally lowers, in respect of its magnificence.

It is only when I took my kids to see it that I realised, it had been too long since I had last visited. We sat as a family, in the shadow of this magnificent being. I couldn’t help but place my hands upon the trunk, close my eyes and wonder what changes it had witnessed. How many families like ours, had passed it by? How many births and deaths had occurred whilst it had stood silently to witness the ever changing world? How many hundred of years had it been here?

A few days previous, I needed to get my children away from the TV. I turned it off and got them into the garden, to see what different wildlife we could spot. Immediately we spotted this beautiful Dragonfly. We spent the whole afternoon, spotting things in the garden that I hadn’t seen. We had so much fun and went in with the knowledge that our garden was teeming with life, full and vibrant in all its colours.

Image 2

How often do we go through life missing amazing things all around us? How many people walk past life, preoccupied with worries? Nature has a wonderful way of grounding us, making us realise that our little world is not the whole world. Standing, staring at the ocean makes you realise the power in nature.

We are connected to nature and the earth. The moon influences us in ways scientists are still discovering. If you are stressed at work, finding it hard to balance work and home, and would love to go for a walk in the woods to ‘reconnect’ yourself, then listen to your intuition and make the time to do it. Just as when you are hungry or thirsty, your body is telling you of it’s needs. When we listen and follow through, we will make the most of life and we will not let it pass by…


Leave a Reply

