Maximise Your Potential

Amrit Sandhar

What you see…is what you get…

on July 27, 2013

So as we are now in the second half of 2013, you wonder where oh where did those New Year’s resolutions go? We started the year full of hope and optimism. We left the previous year behind and draw a line in the sand, to make this year better in so many ways. So what happened? Were those dreams we created, just that, dreams that would never be fulfilled?

It is a well-known fact that many athletes, when training, spend as much time practicing mentally, of the moves they will make, how they will take each step and how they will succeed, as they do perfecting their physical moves. I remember many years ago, I had joined a Karate club. Within 6 months of joining, our club was entering into the National Championships. I had only achieved my first belt. I came back from the tournament, winning the Championships in my category. Before the finals, I remember sitting in the corridor with my eyes closed, I visualised every move, every block and attack…everything. I knew nothing about the workings of the mind. I was only 16 years of age. That act of visualising my moves, sealed my fate.

We are creating pictures in our minds all the time. We may not even be realising it. These pictures can be very powerful. Ever heard of anyone say ‘I cannot see how we could achieve that?’. If we cannot see the picture of us achieving success, how then do we generate the motivation to achieve success? Think back to an amazing moment in your life. You will probably recall the situation and images of that moment will come to you. You will probably be flooded with the emotions from that moment too. This is the power of pictures.

How does all this relate to New Years resolutions I hear you ask? How vivid were those images when you sat there deciding what you wanted this year to be for you? Were they vague? Can you recall if you had any images? Maybe those resolutions were what you think you should have been going for rather than following your dreams? When you truly want something, your mind and body join together to create the future so vividly, you can see it, taste it, feel it and that emotion penetrates every cell in your body. So take time out and ask yourself, do you really want what you thought you did in January? If so, lock yourself away and bring the future into focus. We always find what we are looking for, especially when it is so clear to us…because what you see, is what you get…


Leave a Reply

