Maximise Your Potential

Amrit Sandhar

Bring me sunshine…

on May 31, 2013

We were finally blessed with great weather across the UK today (Friday). It’s amazing how the weather can affect how you feel. Maybe it was enhanced because it was Friday. It’s funny how when you feel good, you tend to meet nicer people. Today, work was such a pleasure. I do love my work, and as challenging as it gets for so many of us, when we have good days, we tend to meet great people in great moods. Everything is enhanced. The converse is also true…a bad day usually only gets worse.

The concept of mirror neurons, discovered by Italian scientists working with primates, found that these exist in all of us. You see something in someone and your brain triggers the same response, as though it was happening to you. An amazing concept but one that is now used by so many people to drive rapport and build relationships. If I feel good going into a discussion with you, I could trigger the same feel good factor within you. The weather can make so many of us feel good. In turn, we meet happier people. Our state of mind is crucial whenever we embark upon an action involving others. Our mirror neurons will fire responses and we can win hearts and minds and take people with us on our journey.

I wonder if this is how the great generals in history led so many people, against the odds, to victory. Alexander the Great led his men through battle after battle. Had he not believed in what he was doing and in his fate, those mirror neurons would have fizzled out with no stimulus passing through the neurons.

Many years ago, when I was young, I won the national championships in Karate. I was 6 months into starting and on my first belt. Yet I believed I was going to win. I was nervous, anxious, but I was not going without winning. Could mirror neurons also come into play, where determination is so strong, it triggers a response, making the opponent realise how determined you are to succeed? All I do know is that when we do change our attitudes, those mirror neurons allow us to see the best in the world around us, through the people we meet everyday.


Leave a Reply

